Cast Your Vote For The American's Fifth Anniversary Football Team

As the American Athletic Conference celebrates its fifth anniversary, the conference welcomes all fans to cast their votes for the league’s Fifth Anniversary Football Team. The American will name its Fifth Anniversary Team July 24 at the conference’s annual Summer Kickoff and Media Days in Newport, Rhode Island.

The fan balloting will be one of three components that will determine the team, along with votes from the 12 football-playing schools and the local and national media that covers The American.

Nominees that appear on the ballot are those who were chosen as all-conference first team selections at least once, or in some instances, were multiple-time second-team selections. Fans may also write in their votes at each position if a player does not appear on the ballot.

Fans may cast their votes below, or may use this link if the ballot does not render in your browser.

I’m a homer and wrote-in a bunch of Coogs…I did pick some of the others that I thought deserved it.

I wrote-in:
Farrow RB
Wall OT
McCloskey TE
Adams LB
Jackson III CB
Roy P
B.Wilson Return Specialist

1 Like

It was an absolute travesty that William Jackson had to be written in. He is one of the best corners in the NFL and had a monster senior season, including 2 picks in the Peach Bowl. It must be because he was robbed of being first team all AAC twice.

I also wrote in Roy, Brandon Wilson and Kenneth Farrow. I like Ayers plenty, but Wilson should have been the Houston return specialist based on the Kick 6 alone.

I thought the same thing about WJIII being omitted. Hard to take the survey seriously when you see that. And didn’t D J Hayden play in the AAC times as well?

Hayden’s last year was 2012. AAC started in 2013.

Thanks. I remember Hayden’s pick-6 against UTEP at The Rob but thought he played a season in the AAC.

I definitely picked Jake Elliot for kicker because of his roll in our 2015 game. He’s my favorite Memphis kicker ever.


WJIII was strange because he was a 2nd team CB twice, but they still omitted him.

Stunned with the Will Jackson omission. I added Richie Leone, as well. Should have added Farrow, but didn’t think of it.

I voted for no Rutgers or Louisville players.

1 Like

No John OKorn? I mean he did beat UTSA that one year.

1 Like

Big Ed’s the only one that made the team. William Jackson III not even being on the ballot is a travesty.

©Copyright 2017