First Coog football game

My first Coog game was football in 1999 versus Rice in the newly refurbished Robertson. It was packed and we win with Kim Helton as our coach.

Mine was the Bleachergate game in 2001. I was a sophomore. Went to see what the controversy was about. That was some bad football, but the student section was a lot of fun so I kept going.

1. coach yeoman …running the veer, gerald landry was qb and we beat the rice birds…it was not a good year but we went to the cotton bowl vs doug flutie and boston college the next year…that was yeoman’s last year.
1 Like

UH vs Texas State in 2012 as a freshman. We got destroyed by a team I had never heard of up to that point.

Needless to say, very disappointing start. But it all worked out in the end!!

For me, it was 1998 against UCLA when I was a freshman. We lost 42-24 to go 0-3 on the season. We finished at 3-8 that year under Kim Helton. Unfortunately, it didn’t get much better for me in my 4 years as an undergrad culminating in the infamous 0-11 season under Dana Dimel my senior year.

I started with Rice at Reliant 2004. 10-3 loss.

I finished with Rice at Rice 2008. 56-42 loss.

(Technically I was still enrolled in fall 2009 after a summer session that ran past the graduation application deadline – also got in with the Cougar Keepers for that season so sideline pass! and more free time to travel to most away games that year)

Went to a few games as a kid against UT in the Dome back in the early 90s, but I was wearing burnt orange. First game I attended as a UH student was UTEP at Robertson in '08. Phenomenal comeback with I believe 3-4 TDs in the 4th quarter.

My first UH football game was my freshman year in 2008 when we opened up the first game against Southern. We beat them 55-3 to start off the Kevin Sumlin era.

Now as a UH graduate, I have had season tickets since 2013.

2001 loss to Rice at Robertson.