Former UH AD Mack Rhoades talks Houston athletics

Austin Staton, a Baylor grad, and I spoke with current Baylor AD Mack Rhoades on The Weekly Brew podcast this week, and I got him to weigh in on the current state of Houston Athletics and what still needs to be done to get UH to that next level, the pinnacle of collegiate athletics. How does UH become a blue-chip program? What conference should Dr. Khator, Hunter Yurachek and co. be targeting? All this and more. Give it a listen!

Listen to The Weekly Brew on iTunes

Listen to The Weekly Brew on SoundCloud

And I’m a UH grad, and I try to work in a little Houston Cougars talk in every episode, so subscribe and share with your networks!

1 Like

I’d ask him “if you had to do it all over again, would you still hire Levine and Dickey as your head coaches?”

3 Likes

If Mack said water is wet…You best double check

Dickey and Levine were fails. TDECU Stadium is ftw. Giving credit where it’s due

MR was a good administrator. Not so much as an AD !

I won’t talk about Mack Rhodes and his UH days; I have my feelings about it, but that’s not why I’m posting.

I find the fact that Baylor administrators continue to try to state that things are getting better without releasing reports or allowing 3rd party oversight to be completely off-putting. It is a trend that continued in this interview and was on display during the Kim Mulkey statement after they clinched the Big 12 women’s title, as well as the interim-president’s comments to the Texas legislature (of which he was called out on by one of the Senators). Are we supposed to just take their word for it? It also amazes me that the two Baylor alums on this podcast are willing to accept that word without any pushback. If this happened at UH, I would want to know every detail so that we could properly clean this up.