IPF to use or not to use

The IFP is a great option for rainy days (less slippage - less injuries) and obviously when there is lightning. My question is how much it will be used on hot sunny days. In just over 4 weeks we play at 11am at Rice and a week later at 11am in TDECU. Will we be practicing indoors on hot sunny days or outdoors? Should we be practicing indoors on hot sunny days or outdoors?

I have zero knowledge or experience on this subject so would like to hear from others that know the plans, experienced practicing at the college level or have researched the pluses and minuses of indoor vs outdoor in the summer.

I’d say you practice outside as much as possible. It’s always to our benefit to be conditioned Houston heat to a point. Sometimes it’s simply too hot though and it’s a greater safety issue than anything else and you have to go to the IPF.

I think if real feel gets above 93ish we should be inside but we should practice outside as much as possible. Even if its raining. So i suppose my answer is 80% outside 20% inside unless weather becomes aggressive.

If you look at the practice schedule you will notice that we are having a lot of early morning practices which will be outside weather permitting. The IPF is for afternoon practice when the temp is extreme, inclement weather, and when the coaches want to keep something secret.

Where?

https://twitter.com/CoachTeykl/status/1024752372474630151

1 Like

They can always make the IPF warmer if they want to simulate a little bit of heat. If it’s 100 F outside but they want to make them sweat just run the A/C at 85 F. Plenty warm but not dangerous.

I just watched a clip on Twitter of CMA saying the offense wants to run as many plays as humanly possible. If that’s the case, they need to be conditioned to running fast in this heat. First 3 games are 11AM at Rice, 11AM at TDECU, 3PM at Tech. We better feel good about running uptempo in the heat for those 3 games alone!

4 Likes