Made my day

https://twitter.com/briannagoulet/status/1051563897403133952

5 Likes

You canā€™t really blame non-UT alumni for being Texas fans if theyā€™re from Texas, although I do find this pretty hilarious.

UT is a very competitive school to get into, so there are a lot of kids who grew up Texas fans that couldnā€™t get into their preferred school such as McCombs which is the #1 ranked public business school.

Same thing with the Aggies. I couldnā€™t tell you how many kids I graduated high school with who attend schools like SHSU, Texas State, SFA, Blinn, UTSA, etcā€¦ but go to all the Aggie games wearing Aggie gear.

Much of UT/A&M fanbase are T-shirt fans. Itā€™s not like that with UH. I would say majority of the people that attend UH games are actually alumni.

6 Likes

The tribe they want to belong is UT regardless of their own school. I do know that geographically dislocated fans frequently root for the local college teams. Got a couple of those peeps in our tailgate crew.

If I lived in Eugene, for example, Iā€™d get out to a few Ducks games. However, the guy who went to Texas State right down the highway and wears UT gear has really kicked his own school in the chops. That is a sorry human being.

2 Likes

I hope it stays that way. Once we become a P5 school I hope we dont get T-shirt fans.

Thatā€™s what makes our school special. Most UH fans support UH athletics. We might not be a P5, but weā€™re not a Texas State tier school that doesnā€™t care about their athletics.

Nothing against Texas State, but I know friends who go there and go to UT/A&M games instead of their own, Quite frankly, I canā€™t blame them.

UH Football is more than just tailgating and having a good time. We actually care about our progress both in academics and athletics.

1 Like

Never wanted to go to UT even though both my parents graduated from there.
Never wanted to be an aggie either.

5 Likes

I dont understand why you would pick a team that doesnā€™t have to earn its place.