Should we redshirt D'Eriq King

I’m no doctor and I have no idea as to how bad King’s injury is but I sure as hell would not take any chances with the most talented player we have not named Ed Oliver.

If Applewhite lets him play against Rice then obviously it wasn’t too bad and I’m not going to worry about it but if his injury is one of those that can be easily reagravated, then it might behoove us to let him redshirt since we’re going to need a 100% King more next year than we do an 80% King this year.

1 Like

Why will we need him more next year than this year?

I prefer he hold him out until the Texas Tech game if the injury is lingering. Unless he is not ready to go for AAC play, I don’t see a redshirt being used.

If Allen leaves at the end of the year, King will be our most experienced QB coming in to 2018

Of course it would be better to sit him against Rice but I’m just saying IF he does play then he obviously good to go.

He’ll be more valuable next year since Postma graduates and Allen might opt for the NFL. If he does and King is hurt we’ll have no one with any experience starting at QB.

You mean like leave for the pros? If he has the year of years, maybe he would.

I would consider him. Heard his recovery is coming along slowly. Might as well let him heal,up.

Sorry I should have been clearer – even if good to go or thought to be, would rather sit him another week to give him even more time. Next off-season could see Allen, King and Smith all competing for the QB role. Even if Allen leaves after one year (this likely means he was really great this season), King vs. Smith will still be a good competition to watch and we should be happy with either option.

I’m really hoping Allen stays. If not for the NFL, why would he transfer to another school? I never understand grad transfers who are basically given the starting nod for the next year.