Cks

We are so fortunate…

11 Likes

Calling it here and now folks… National Champs 2019.

7 Likes

Yes we are. Completely changed the culture. Nobody out-toughs us anymore.

8 Likes

What were your thoughts of Tom Penders and why he failed?

2 Likes

I can’t think of anyone else I’d rather have here. Wasn’t that long ago that what? 5 guys took a hike when he took the job here? We were a shambles, terrible facility, lousy schedule, apathetic fan base and students. CKS had a plan, worked it and didn’t waver.Just like he has a plan for every move he makes during the course of a game. Rotation, minutes, rules…everything part of the plan.

We won’t win every game, nobody does but I know two things…we won’t get out hustled…and we won’t get out coached.

12 Likes

I loved the pender’s era. It was my transition from student to grad. It was my first exposure to cougar b-ball. We didn’t have the facilities we have now. I’m no expert but if I remember correctly he build his teams on jucos. Also coach cal was at Memphis. Cusa at best would get another team in the tourney…uab. I wish we had more success with him…

2 Likes

Penders was a great coach but the facilities were so bad the bigs would not come here.

7 Likes

The reason Penders failed was lack of facilities, not enough 4yr guys, and when cusa broke apart it became a 1 bid league

8 Likes

CKS! All Caps! He deserves it!

2 Likes

Absolutely! my favorite team during his era was the 2005 team with Lanny, Oshow, Dyer, Thorpe, and Lawson. Second best or actually third best team including this years that I’ve seen since following. Cougar basketball.

I would say Sampson is like penders on steroids!

1 Like

Don’t insult Kelvin. He’s nothing like Herman

2 Likes

Oh no I was not at all insulting either! Just comparing the two. Both actually had somewhat similar resumes before coming here and offensively their styles arent that different. Emphasis on Defense and recruiting is what I think seperates.