Touchdown Club Player/Coach of the Year Banquet Tonight

Tonight we honor the best players and coaches for the 2021 season. Here is a list of our past winners. Go back years and you’ll still recognize the names.

Offense ******************************************************Defense

|2020|Dematrius Davis - North Shore |Bryce McMorris - Bridgeland|
|2019|Devon Achane - Thurgood Marshal l |Josh White - Cypress Creek|
|2018|Kenyon Green - Atascocita |Tony Bradford - North Shore|
|2017|Keondre Coburn - Westfield |Mustapha Muhammad - Ridge Point|
|2016|CeeDee Lamb - Foster |Trevon Lewis - Lamar|
|2015|Darius Anderson - George Ranch |Ed Oliver - Westfield|
|2014|Rodney Anderson - Katy |Tristan Horton - The Woodlands|
|2013|Amanti Foreman - Texas City |Zack Whitely - North Shore|
|2012|Shane McCarley - Manvel |Deon Hollins - Marshall|
|2011|Bralon Addison - Hightower |Chris Alexander - Pearland|
|2010|Dustin Garrison - Pearland |David Santos - Klein Collins|
|2009|Trey Hopkins - North Shore |Shane Sobnosky - Santa Fe|
|2008|Russell Shepard - Cy Ridge |Jarrad Stewart - Pearland|
|2007|DeSean Hales - Klein Oak |Trent Hunter - Katy|
|2006|Foswhitt Whittaker - Pearland |Justin Adams - FB Marshall|
|2005|Jerrod Johnson - Humble |Richard Jones - La Marque|
|2004|James Aston - Katy |Andre Sexton - Cy Falls|
|2003|Bobby Reid - North Shore |Rashad Bobino - La Marque|
|2002|Drew Tate - Baytown Lee |Brad Girtman - Memorial|
|2001|Vince Young - Madison |Jamar Williams - Langham Creek|
|2000|Yamar Washington - Klein Forest |Shawn Brooks - Jersey Village|
|1999|Keith Joseph - Lamar |Pat Howard - La Marque|
|1998|Ell Roberson III - Baytown Lee |Kevin Taulton - Madison|
|1997|Leo Mills - Humble |Jermarcus Joshua - Nimitz|
|1996|Cedric Cormier - North Shore |Jason Glenn - Nimitz|
|1995|Mike Green - Klein |James Burnett - La Marque|
|1994|Jermaine Alfred - Baytown Lee |Josh Williams - Cypress Creek|
|1993|Alan Faneca - Lamar Consolidated |Antoine Simpson - La Porte|
|1992|Kalief Muhammad - Elsik |Bryan Johnson - Jersey Village|
|1991|Nathan Campbell - Elsik |Cedric Jones - Lamar|
|1990|Clarence McCullough - Lamar Cons.|Sam Adams - Cypress Creek|
|1989|Doug Womack - Aldine |Aubrey Beavers - Yates|
|1988|Martin Patton - Madison |Martin Patton - Madison|
|1987|Peter Gardere - Houston Lee |Anthony Curl - MacArthur|
|1986|Ricky Vestal - Cypress Creek |Santana Dotson - Yates|
|1985|Lance Pavlas - Tomball |Zarak Peters - Willowridge|
|1984|Ronald Jiles - Madison |Russell Knapp - Spring Woods|
|1983|Thurman Thomas - Willowridge |John Roper - Yates|
|1982|James Shibest - MacArthur |David Stanley - Angleton|
|1981|Tom Muecke - Angleton |Ty Allert - Northbrook|
|1980|Anthony King - Dulles|(only one award given)|


I grew up in Humble and attended Humble elementary, Humble middle school, and Humble high school. There is one name that sticks out to me “LEO MILLS”, tailback from Humble HS. When I was a freshman football player at Humble HS, they sat all of us down in the film room, and played 30 mins of highlights of Leo Mills from 1997. Dude was/is an Humble legend.

Beat out the famous Ben Gay for OPOY

1 Like

It is somewhat odd to know both of these guys did not pan out in their football careers like you thought they would have based on their high school performances. Both All-Americans too. May Leo rest in peace.

Ben worked summers for a friend of mine who is a UT booster. He told me there was no way he could go to UT because he “was dumber than a stump”. How Baylor ever got him in is a mystery like Stonehedge.

Leo chose Arizona which is where football careers go to die.

1 Like

Pretty unfortunate circumstances for once great athletes. To change the tone though, I was a freshman when Jerrod Johnson was playing QB as a senior at Humble. He was a man among boys out there, and went to A&M just like his father, who was my principal in middle school and later in high school.

Ben Gay? Isn’t he getting beat by Icy Hot? What was his parents thinking when they gave him that name?