Chinese Star Restaurant campus lease not renewed - will be replaced

UH DECLINES TO RENEW POPULAR RESTAURANT’S LEASE

Chinese Star Restaurant will close on December 17th after the university declined to renew its lease.

This is a horrible decision by UH. There is a petition to help save the restaurant.

Signed it. Small business owners deserve a chance.

2 Likes

It’s been 6 years. As of March google shows an eyesore of empty field with some trash in front of it now. So why was this family run business forced to close?

3 Likes

Idk… I loved it when I was studying at UH.

Still visited that place a couple times a year even after i graduated in 97. Loved the olace. We called it Running Dog.

Typical real estate move - get them out and decide what to do later or anything at all -obviously those folks worked with the group who demolished Astroworld

Yeah, nothing done still. They want it to be a food truck park. Still nothing

Just wait til you see the hub. Cheap affordable food in the satellite no more.

No idea what the concepts will be. Probably bad. Hipster overpriced “tryna look cool” food

Let’s face it, UH has become a for profit institution.

1 Like

I know most folks don’t think they are but colleges are business and they still need to make money.

Maybe UH did this to help the food places within UH like pinks pizza etc.

Not sure if this is the case here, but independent restaurants in Houston are running two-three years from conception to opening. Primary causes are Covid, city permitting, shortage of construction materials/workers and hiring personnel.

At the rate UH is going, they’ll put a Shake Shack, Chuy’s, or Cheesecake Factory there. You know, over priced corporate chain restaurants.

I just went to Frenchy’s. Still do

1 Like

I hope they aren’t over thinking the new Hub with expensive and exotic food. Kids just want fast cheap regular food.

1 Like