From a Tech Hoops Guy

Man, UH has a damn good team. From my understanding, yall beat us even worse last year in a closed door scrimmage.

I understand completely why Beard is so adamant on playing UH/Sampson in an exhibition or noncon game every season. He wants to be exposed in every way imaginable so he can figure out a way to stop it from happening again.

I can’t imagine what a fully health Caleb Mills would add to the mix.

My biggest takeaway wasn’t how easy it was for UH to slice up our vaunted no-middle defense… it was Beard’s reluctance to play any of our big guys in the second half. And I don’t think that was really a choice he was making… it was something that UH was dictating on us.

I’m no expert, but something that UH was doing made Beard scrap basically a third of our roster. Including many guys that we are expected to rely on to be a factor in the Big 12.

I’ve never seen such a big discrepancy on catch-and-shoot jump shots the last 2 seasons under Beard. Tech normally gets a ton of open ones, and allows very few. Per Synergy, UH attemped 17 open CnS jumpers; Tech attempted 6. Meanwhile, Tech attempted 8 “contested” CnS jumpers; UH attempted just 1 (Grimes made it, by the way).

You guys would have scored a lot more points if Sampson didn’t make the wise decision to start clocking possessions the last 10 minutes or so. If that was a tight game, whatever yall were doing the first 30 minutes in all likelihood would have kept working.

Hopefully, for Tech’s sake, UH is as good as they looked on Sunday (even better really, with Mills 100%). And Tech is able to figure out something to do differently if we ever see you guys again.

46 Likes

Welcome to the board Hunter! Intelligent and logical discourse are always welcome…so based on that, you’re quite a bit further ahead than most of our posters (lol)!