New Schools in Texas at VH/R1Research Level

So Texas now has 8 schools at this level with the addition of
UTSA and Baylor.

Can never rest on our past achievements. I’m wondering if the Carnegie rating criteria
will need to be refined as more schools achieve this level of performance. And pursuit
of getting the AAU invite becomes more important now to distinguish UH.

1 Like

Renu will get us AAU. She hasn’t failed yet on any goals and it’s the last big prize. I’m confident she will get it down in the 5 yr plan or so. Plus she’s respected all around so we have a great shot.

7 Likes

Oh, I second that opinion and have no doubts about plan or leadership to
get there. I’m just suspicious if it is a somewhat political process or purely merit based.
I have no real in-depth knowledge here on either supposition, but just curious.
May be a combination of both. I’m curious if our 2 instate big brother public schools would sponsor.

3 Likes

Right. I fear it’s political, which is why I hold little hope unless we can form a friendship/kinship with some already established out of state school. BS political game the AAU.

I am fine with more Texas schools getting VH/R1 status. We should not pocket watch UTSA or Texas Tech. UH should get our house in order and make sure we are getting our fair share of federal research dollars. That is the key. The reason BIG Ten schools are all AAU (except Nebraska) is because they receive massive federal research grants.

UH currently receives about $200 m in federal research dollars. To put it in perspective, Cincinnati gets $530 million, Temple gets $284 million, UCF gets $225 million, USF gets $385 million, Louisville gets $173 million, Texas Tech gets $249 million, University of Illinois - Chicago gets $382 million and VCU gets $255 million. So, compared to our peers (large, urban universities), we are middle to lower end.