Texas History - Life on the Frontier

A Frontier Life

The more I read about lives of old time Texans, the more I am struck by how much living they packed into their years.

What you are about to read is the story of John James Haynes (1843-1925) and it all takes place before his twenty-eighth birthday.

What he leaves out of the story is that he was also a POW for a time.

"I was born in the Republic of Texas , August 6, 1843, where Gonzales is now located.

My father, Charles Haynes, who arrived in Texas some ten years previous, risked his life in helping Texas to gain her independence from Mexico. I was raised in Llano County, then on the frontier.

When I was quite small I was taught to ride, shoot, hunt and run wild cattle, and all the other things necessary to withstand the requirements of those strenuous times.

At a very early age my father presented each of his three sons with a gun, and as he was a mechanic and smith by trade, he made for each of us a long Bowie knife, and gave instructions how to use it.

The rule in those days was to use the Bowie knife and save powder and shot. I have been in many close quarters when that knife came in mighty handy, for in my time I have killed every kind of wild animal that roamed in this wild country.

Besides the wild animals we had worse foes to contend with - the savage Indians, who often made raids upon the settlements.

When I was eighteen years old I joined the Confederate Army and was sent out of the state. I served the entire four years of that desperate struggle, and came home with a crippled arm.

When we were discharged we were given transportation home, as far as the train went, and it didn’t go far into Texas in those days.