80s famous team

Hi there
Just watched a documentary on Houston bb and Phi Slama Jam when you got to 3 final 4s and one guy on the show said you were the Best team in America
I’m no expert on bb but I see these days Duke NC Kentucky etc are the big teams but not Houston

Were duke and co big teams back in the Jam era? Or were cougars a big team then as duke are today?

How did you manage to recruit such talented players over Duke in the 80s? How come you haven’t won a tourney game since. Is it down to recruiting?

Sorry if these sound silly questions but I’m European not America

Thanks

4 Likes

My opinion, in reverse order is that it comes down to the head coach knowing how to identify talent. Guy Lewis could do it and our current coach, Kelvin Sampson can do it.

As for Duke, their head coach can do it and has been for so long that now Duke is synonymous with successful basketball. He’s 71 now so I have to wonder what will happen when he retires. I’m 58 years old and growing up it was UCLA, Kentucky, Indiana, NC, and Notre Dame in the early to mid 70’s. When coach Woodson at UCLA retired that program went down pretty fast as I recall.

Houston was always around and sometimes pretty good at that time, but growing up in Ohio, I didn’t hear much about them until tournament time. Then I moved to Houston for work in 1980 and enrolled in graduate school. Phi Slamma Jamma happened. Those teams were the apex of UH basketball until now. The Elvin Hayes teams were right there too, but I’m too young to remember that.

Hopefully, CKS will stick around for a few more years, he’ll turn 63 in October, and get UH established as a perennial tournament team. If he stays with us until he’s 70, I think we’ll be on our way. Then, we just need to hire someone to replace him who knows talent and how to develop it.

6 Likes