2023-2024 UH Track and Field

The indoor season will begin on Jan. 12 when Houston hosts the Leonard Hilton Memorial Invitational Jan. 12. The Cougars will make their first trip of the season on Jan. 20 at the Ted Nelson Invitational in College Station, Texas.

3 Likes

Robert Platt Invitational concluded yesterday:

Last week was the first week of USTFCCCA rankings, UH men were #42 and a bottom half team in Big 12. We’ll see how that changes as the season progresses. To me the minimum should be a Top 25 program, and ideally challenging for Conference Championships. Big 12 champs would be contending for National Championships as well.

1 Like

Good jump for the men in this week’s rankings. Up 10 spots to #32.

1 Like

Can we finish in top 4 or 5 in Big 12? Where’s my track expert?

I’m not a track expert but will say yes to your question, talking men’s track. Lewis brought in some top transfers, sprinters such as Davonte Burnett - USC, Louie Hinchliffe - WSU. Also several outstanding freshmen sprinters. Burnett’s best times 9.9 100m, 20.2 200m. Hinchliffe 10.1 100m. Also brought in several good jumpers (high, long & triple). A discus guy who could score points and an interesting decathlon Rice guy. Wait until outdoors to get a clear picture.

2 Likes

I’ve skimmed the results of our indoor meets, and going from memory I don’t think those transfer sprinters have been running indoors. I believe indoor and outdoor track are considered separate sports, so is that an eligibility issue or just saving the legs?

Also, according to UH website, the Rice transfer heptathlete put up the #1 score in the nation, set a UH record, and is ranked #2 in the world right now in heptathlon. Is that as impressive as it sounds, or is it just early in the season?

Either way, the multi’s are events that I don’t recall it’s ever scoring points in. Nice to see a more well rounded team for the Nationals.

1 Like